William Davis, author of the popular book ‘Wheat Belly’, says that the wheat we eat nowadays is very different from the wheat we used to eat. The wheat we find now is “an 18-inch tall plan created by genetic research in the 60s and 70s,” he told CBS This Morning. This high-yield strain of wheat was introduced to American farmers in the late 1970s and by 1985 almost all wheat farmers were growing this new strain. At the time this must have looked like a no brainer – more wheat, faster. But could this new strain be responsible for so many of the health problems we suffer from nowadays?
One of the big differences in this modern wheat is the gliadin, a protein found within wheat gluten capable of affecting humans in various negative ways. Davis says that it’s not just people with celiac disease and gluten intolerance who should be concerned, it’s everyone. Gliadin binds to the opiate receptors in the brain inducing appetite, behavioral changes, inattention in children with ADHD and autism, hearing voices, social detachment in schizophrenics and mania in bipolar illness. Davis says:
‘People who consume gliadin consume 400 calories more per day; people who remove gliadin reduce calorie intake by 400 calories per day.’ Many people, gluten-free or not, are leaving wheat behind and focusing on other grains or no grains at all.
“We’re seeing hundreds of thousands of people losing 30,80,150 pounds…people with arthritis having dramatic relief. People losing leg swelling,acid reflux, IBS, depression, and on and on every day.”
Wheat is everywhere as we well know but Davis suggests eating “real-food such as avocados, olives, olive oil, meats and vegetables..the stuff that is least likely to have been changed by agribusiness.”
What are your thoughts on this new ‘Frankenwheat’? Have you eliminated wheat from your diet without a medical reason, simply because you feel healthier without it?
Gildea Holistic Health & Wellness
MARTIN S GILDEA DC t 806 HOLLY PIKE t MT. HOLLY SPRINGS, PA 17065
Phone (717)-486-8189 t Fax (717)-486-3426
Getting Started on a Gluten Free Diet
(Beginning your gluten-free journey toward a healthier life!)
WHAT IS GLUTEN?
Gluten is a sticky protein found in certain grains such as wheat, barley, rye, spelt and kamut. Since it is so sticky, it acts like a glue to bind ingredients together. Gluten holds together the flour which makes bread. Gluten stops sauces, gravies, and soups from curdling and gives a smooth texture to cheese spread and dips, dressings, margarines, sweets, canned meats, mustard, and almost all packaged and processed foods. It has therefore been in the interest of the manufacturers to use it extensively and in the interest of the growers to increase the gluten content of grains.
LET'S START WITH....
WHAT YOU CAN EAT!
Lots of things! While it is true that a lot of food will now be off limits, it is also true that there is a lot of food in the world~ and many things are still perfectly safe to eat! Getting back to basics is a good way to start.
You can still eat:
Nuts and Seeds
Milk, Cheese, and Yogurt (if not casein or lactose intolerant)
Please rest assured that you can buy or make your own gluten free baked goods~ bread, cakes, cookies, muffins, and more!
There are several brands of gluten free beer on the market now, and an endless supply of gluten free snack foods like popcorn, peanuts, gf pretzels, gf crackers, corn chips, etc. Many restaurants offer gluten free menus.
It really is best to begin with a basic whole foods diet and it is also important to focus on what you CAN HAVE rather than dwell on what you can't have. It's that whole positive thinking thing.
Whole grains like quinoa, buckwheat, and amaranth are acceptable on the diet as long as you are not sensitive to them.. It can be fun to explore new foods, and you may find with the new focus on food you will actually increase the variety of healthy foods in your diet; most of us do!
“Back to basics” eating is just easier while on the gluten free diet learning curve. Reading labels at the grocery store can be daunting in the beginning. That gets easier over time as you eventually learn which foods and ingredients are acceptable.
You will eventually get back to a regular shopping list~ it will just be a little different than it was before. Eating unadulterated whole foods over processed foods really cuts down on label reading.... a big help when beginning this overwhelming task of re-evaluating everything you eat!
Whole foods, unprocessed foods, are just healthier for you all the way around, and are easier on your intestinal system while it is healing. You will be reducing the risk of inadvertent gluten errors by avoiding processed foods, and giving your body a better chance to heal quickly.
It is not uncommon for those with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease to suffer from other food intolerances as well. In fact, studies tell us up to 50% of those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity also have problems with cow's milk. Corn and soy sensitivity are commonly a problem as well.
Sticking to whole foods, and keeping a food and symptom journal, can help to identify additional sensitivities if you continue to have symptoms. Many people find they do much better without any grains at all in their diet.
DO I HAVE TO BUY EXPENSIVE SPECIALTY FOODS?
No! In fact, you can live quite nicely and healthfully without any of the specialty food products. Many opt to eat only naturally gluten free whole foods and find this simple way of eating very satisfying.
There are also many mainstream processed foods that are gluten free and safe for you to eat. Some mainstream products are even beginning to clearly label products as gluten free... which makes our job of label reading a lot easier.
Allergy and Contains Statements on products are also very helpful, but beware because they won't necessarily include barley or rye ingredients. Wheat is one of the eight major allergens covered under labeling laws. When you see wheat in a Contains: statement, or highlighted in the ingredient list, it shortens the label reading task as you quickly return the product to its store shelf.
SPECIALTY FOODS GALORE IF YOU WANT THEM!
There are many specialty gluten free foods on the market and the market is growing like wild fire. More products are making their way to your very own local grocery store... be sure to check the health and specialty aisles! Most health food stores will carry a wide variety of gluten free products.
The GF Mall is a one stop directory of websites offering foods in the gluten free specialty market. There is a searchable data base of GF products at GF Overflow
One caution about specialty foods... though. They are not necessarily HEALTHY foods. Once you begin to read labels of everything you eat, out of necessity, you will gain an acute awareness of exactly what you are eating. Many of us end up cleaning up our diets overall and doing without much of the processed foods, but for some of us who still like to splurge on occasion with a little junk food... it is still all available! No shortages there....
This list geared with children in mind:
Can I make my own baked goods?
Yes, you can!
It is simple to purchase various gluten free flours and make your own baked goods. You can buy pre-blended gluten free flours, or blend your own... usually a combination of rice flour, tapioca flour, and potato starch flour. The healthiest flours to bake with are almond flour and coconut flour and recipes can be found on elanaspantry.com. There are many gluten free recipe books on the market if you look for them. According to Amazon.com there are 276 of them, and counting!
Online and local support groups are also very helpful in supplying gluten free recipes and baking tips.
And don't throw away your old cook books either! It is very simple to convert most recipes, especially when cooking, but even when baking. You can make a mean Toll House cookie right off the Nestle package, with a simple substitution of gluten free flour, and an added teaspoon of xanthan gum or guar gum.
WHAT YOU CAN'T EAT
Bread, cakes, pies, cookies, pasta, candy, or any other product that uses wheat, rye, or barley needs to be avoided. Don't be fooled... white bread is indeed made with wheat flour!
Avoid anything made with:
Wheat - including einkorn, emmer, spelt, kamut, wheat starch, wheat bran, wheat germ, cracked wheat, hydrolyzed wheat protein
Farina Graham flour
Plain flour Self-rising flour
Rye & Triticale - a cross between wheat and rye
Gluten may also be found in other processed foods you might not suspect, so it is important to read labels carefully. You'll need to ask questions when eating at restaurants, and at the homes of family and friends. It is generally possible to find gluten free brands of many of these items, but you must be especially cautious about the following items~ and verify!
Brown rice syrup
Candy (including licorice!) & chewing gum
Cold cuts, hot dogs, salami, sausage
French fries, fryer oil may be contaminated or if they are breaded
Glazed Hams - glaze or injections
Gravy – all purpose flour is usually the thickener
Imitation fish – additives and fillers
Marinated Meats – the marinade
Rice mixes – the seasoning packet
Seasoned tortilla chips, french fries, potato chips
Soy sauce- substitute with Tamari sauce
Reading labels must become a new part of every day life unless you remove all processed foods from your diet. We need to read labels at the grocery store, and reread them again before opening a can, box or package at home. And because ingredients often change~ we must read labels over and over and over again, even when purchasing products we think we “know” are safe.
Being a member of a gluten sensitivity or celiac disease community, locally or online, can be immensely helpful when starting out on a gluten free diet. There are a lot “tricks to the trade”... and generally, others who have been doing this for years can tell you exactly which brands are currently safe. Local support groups are also very helpful, and will be able to tell you the best gluten free shopping spots, and gluten free restaurants in the area.
What about oats?
Some oats may be contaminated with gluten because of cross contamination in the fields or during processing. Consequently, whether or not oats are safe to eat remains a controversial subject. The majority of research on the subject indicates that oats are safe for people with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, but it remains in question.
Some people may also have a separate sensitivity to oats.
If you do choose to include oats in your diet, look for a brand which has gluten free certification. It may be wise to eliminate them completely from your diet for the first several months, and add them back only if all is well, and then do so with caution.
Bob's Red Mill GLUTEN FREE Oats, Glutenfreeoats.com
Creamhill Estates, Only Oats
HOW STRICT DO I NEED TO BE?
You need to be very strict~ 100% diligent about removing all gluten from your diet. A tiny little bit, even in the form of cross contamination, can do damage if it occurs often enough~ preventing your intestines from healing, and keeping your immune system producing destructive antibodies.
One of the best analogies I've heard is of comparing damaged intestinal villi to a skinned knee. If you skin your knee, and then keep falling down every couple of days and re-scraping it, it will never heal. Cross contamination and gluten errors are like falling down and re-scraping your knee. You'll never get better if you keep falling.
Some people may not react symptomatically to gluten errors, but that doesn't mean the infractions aren't doing any damage. Repeated errors will keep those antibodies in production and working against you, even if you aren't noticing any symptoms on the 'outside'.
If you are auto-immune,
eating gluten, is like THROWING GAS ON A FIRE!
Beyond checking labels for safe ingredients, those on a gluten free diet have to worry about cross contamination that can occur in the home, school, workplace, manufacturing environments, etc. Rather than reinvent the wheel, here are some links to things you need to think about.
Cross Contamination Concerns by Anne
Cross Contamination Potential Issues by Mireille http://forums.delphiforums.com/n/mb/message.asp?webtag=celiac&msg=32462.1 (may enter as guest)
How to Make Your Home Gluten Free
by Children's Hospital Boston
Cross- Reactive Foods & Foods You Might Be Sensitive To
There are 13 foods commonly cross-reactive with gluten. They are: cow’s milk, alpha-casein and beta-casein, casomorphin, milk butyrophilin, American cheese, milk chocolate, rye, barley, spelt, kamut (polish wheat), yeast oats, and coffee. Cross reactive means the amino acid sequences are so similar that the immune system can react as if you are still eating gluten.
There are 11 foods not cross-reactive, but patients on a gluten-free diet are frequently sensitive to and they are: sesame, hemp, buckwheat, sorghum, millet amaranth, quinoa, tapioca, corn, rice and potato (not sweet potato).
An accurate test at our office is available for the above.
Some people with gluten sensitivity find they do better with no grains at all, and opt to follow a paleolithic diet, which is not only gluten free, but grain free, casein free and legume free. To learn more:
List of Gluten Derivatives
Alcohol made from grains: beer, whisky, vodka (unless potato based), scotch
Canned meat containing preservatives
Canned vegetables (unless canned in water only)
Caramel (made and imported from countries other than the US and Canada)
French fries (may be fried in the same oil as bread products)
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (may be made from wheat)
Imitation seafood (usually made with a starch binder made of wheat)
Instant hot drinks-coffee, tea, hot chocolate
Ketchup – unless stated “gluten-free”
Modified food starch
Rice syrup (may contain barley malt)
Salad dressings –avoid commercial varieties unless noted “gluten-free”
Soups-most commercially made canned or frozen soups
Soy sauce and most other Chinese sauces, except for Tamari wheat free sauce
Veined cheeses (may be created with molds that could be of bread origin)
Boullion cubes or powder (artificial color)
Mustards – unless stated “gluten-free”
Sweets, such as cakes, pastries, cookies , candies, muffins, chocolate unless noted “gluten free” on label
MSG (Monosodium Glutamate) – flavor enhancers
Glutamic Acid & Monopotassium Glutamate– flavor enhancers
q Buy good ingredients.
q Buy organic whenever possible especially produce on the “The Dirty Dozen” list
q Limit pesticide exposure.
q Don’t purchase packaged, frozen, or canned foods except for tuna, some beans and coconut milk.
q Always eat before you go to a party so you do not experience hunger pangs.
q Always carry a snack with you when you go out in case your plans change and you cannot find anything to eat.
q Be cautious to accept someone’s word that the food they are offering is gluten-free unless you are really sure.
q Do not be tempted just because you are feeling better, to assume you are cured! Be warned – if your body has just started to recover, it will be even more sensitive to the food and the reaction will be dramatic.
Transitioning to a Gluten Free Life
Get educated. There is on-line help, books, support groups, our office, etc. You are not alone!
Clean your kitchen. If the whole family is going gluten free, give away your non gluten-free food. If it is only part of your family, get out labels and start marking what is gluten- free.
Learn how to shop and where to shop. Start reading labels and looking for hidden sources of gluten in processed foods.
Discuss your needs with your family and friends. Notify them that you are living gluten-free. Let them know so when you plan to get together there are gluten-free options.
Transition away from your normal day-to-day diet.
Be a conscious eater! Think about your food choices and be aware that these decisions are leading you toward a healthier life.( Many individuals with a gluten intolerance may have reactions to other grains as well, so be aware of such a possibility.)
Go to restaurants that provide gluten-free options. Always tell the waiter that you are gluten-free so he can notify the chef. Many restaurants will customize a dish for you if they know. And be aware that when eating at restaurants that do not have gluten-free menus, there are many foods contrary to your expectations that may contain gluten. Be sure to check with your server and if they don’t know, have them ask the chef. Your health is important!
Enjoy this journey to a healthier life!
Gluten-Free ABCs for Going G-free
By The Gluten Free Goddess
Gluten is the elastic protein in the grains: wheat, rye, barley, durum, einkorn, graham, semolina, bulgur wheat, spelt, farro, kamut, and triticale. Commercial oats also contain gluten due to cross contamination in processing.
Recipes that use flour (bleached white flour, whole wheat, cracked wheat, barley, semolina, spelt, farro, kamut, triticale) or vital wheat gluten are not gluten-free.
Semolina, spelt and whole wheat pasta, including cous cous, are not gluten-free.
Beer, ale and lager are not gluten-free. Brats, meats and sausage cooked in beer are not gluten-free.
Malt vinegar, malt flavorings and barley malt are not gluten-free.
Recipes calling for breadcrumbs, breaded coatings, flour dredging, bread and flat bread, croutons, bagels, croissants, flour tortillas, pizza crust, graham crackers, granola, cereal, wheat germ, wheat berries, cookie crumbs, pie crust, crackers, pretzels, toast, flour tortillas, wraps and lavash, or pita bread are not gluten-free.
The vegan protein sub called seitan is not gluten-free; and some tempeh is not gluten-free (you must check). Flavored tofu may or may not be gluten-free. Injera bread (traditionally made from teff flour) and Asian rice wraps may be gluten-free, but are not necessarily gluten-free (check labels).
Barley enzymes used in malt, natural flavors, and to process some non-dairy beverages, chocolate chips, coffee and dessert syrups (and even some brown rice syrups) are not gluten-free. Always check.
Gluten is sneaky.
Hidden gluten can be found in gravy, broth, bouillon, soy sauce, tamari, marinades, sauces, salad dressings, cured meats, sausage, hot dogs, vegan hot dogs, sausages and burgers, self-basting poultry, flavored and herb cheeses, blue veined (bread mold based) cheeses, spice blends including curry powder, dry mustard, canned and prepared soups, tomato paste, sweeteners, confectioner's and brown sugar, beverages, flavored coffees, herbal teas (watch for barley), roasted, flavored or spiced nuts, jerky, flavored yogurts and puddings, some chocolate and chocolate chips, cocoa and instant coffee mixes, flavored vinegars, cooking wines, flavored liqueur and liquor, wine coolers, some ice cream and frozen desserts. Always read labels. Call the manufacturer.
What is gluten-free?
Grains, flours, starches and thickeners that are safe for celiac and wheat allergies include:
Corn, grits, polenta and cornmeal
Buckwheat, buckwheat cereal, kasha and buckwheat flour
Rice- white, brown, risotto, basmati, jasmine, sticky rice, rice cereal
Rice flour- white rice, sweet (glutinous) rice and brown rice flour
Quinoa, quinoa cereal flakes, and quinoa flour
Millet and millet flour
Amaranth and amaranth flour
Certified gluten-free oats and oatmeal* see note
Nut meals and flours- almond, chestnut, pecan, cashew
Chick pea, garbanzo, soy (soya) and bean flour
Tapioca (whole) and tapioca starch (manioc)
Potato starch (used in baking)
Potato flour (used sparingly as a thickener)
Sweet potato and yam flour
Pre-made ingredients that are safe for celiac include:
100% corn tortillas and taco shells
Pre-made polenta rolls with a gluten-free label
Plain teff wraps made from 100% teff flour
Plain 100% brown rice tortilla wraps
100% Corn pasta
Quinoa and corn pasta
Soy pasta (if it states gluten-free)
Brown and white rice pasta, rice noodles, rice glass noodles
100% buckwheat soba noodles (check label)
Rice paper, rice and tapioca rice paper wraps (check label)
100% nut butters- almond, peanut, cashew, pecan
100% seed butters- sesame tahini, sunflower and hemp seed butter
Gluten-free beer and lager made from rice, sorghum or a non-gluten grain.
About baking recipes:
When it comes to converting your favorite baking recipes to gluten-free, a simple one-to-one flour substitution will not yield the same results as your recipe based on wheat flour.
Gluten is a giving, stretchy ingredient that supports rise, structure, texture and kneadablity. It takes more than a single gluten-free flour replacement to make a cake, bread, muffin or cookie recipe work. A combination of gluten-free flours and starches with some extra egg whites or leavening, and xanthan gum added to improve viscosity is necessary for optimum results.
*Note on oats: Read Shelly Case on the gluten-free status of oats at Allergic Living.
Read more: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2009/04/gluten-free-cheat-sheet-how-to-go-g.html#ixzz26uzXNHVn